Emmylou Harris - Red Dirt Girl (Translucent Red Vinyl)

  • $29.98

Emmylou Harris - Red Dirt Girl 

  • Double LP red translucent
Release Date: 02/19/2020

Emmylou Harris made her Nonesuch Records debut with the release of her album Red Dirt Girl 20 years ago, on September 5, 2000. To mark its 20th anniversary, Nonesuch will release the album — which won the Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Folk Album — on limited-edition, translucent red vinyl this February. The initial vinyl edition of the album, released on standard black vinyl in 2016, is no longer in print.

Harris — whom the Los Angeles Times dubbed "the most captivating female artist ever in country music" — wrote all but one of the 12 tracks on Red Dirt Girl, marking only the second time in her career that she had been so involved in the composition of an album. "In songs about lonely journeys and lost companions," said the New York Times, "Ms. Harris has found herself."

Red Dirt Girl was produced by Malcolm Burn, who had worked with Harris engineering and mixing her previous solo studio recording, 1995's Wrecking Ball, and features Burn on piano, guitar, and bass; Buddy Miller on lead guitar; Daryl Johnson on bass and drums; and Ethan Johns on drums, guitar, and other miscellaneous instruments. Dave Matthews sings a duet with Harris on the album, and Bruce Springsteen, Patti Scialfa, and Patty Griffin also contribute vocals.”


1. The Pearl
2. Michelangelo
3. I Don't Wanna Talk About It Now
4. Tragedy
5. Red Dirt Girl
6. My Baby Needs A Shepherd
7. Bang The Drum Slowly
8. J'ai Fait Tout
9. One Big Love
10. Hour Of Gold
11. My Antonia
12. Boy From Tupelo

LABEL: Nonesuch
UPC: 075597917581

We will ship within 48 hours of release date. Store pick up available. 

We Also Recommend