DUSTY SPRINGFIELD - The Complete Atlantic Singles 1968-1971 (RSD BLACK FRIDAY 2021)

DUSTY SPRINGFIELD - The Complete Atlantic Singles 1968-1971 (RSD BLACK FRIDAY 2021)

  • $44.99

DUSTY SPRINGFIELD - The Complete Atlantic Singles 1968-1971

  • Record Store Day Black Friday 2021 Release
  • 2x Vinyl LP
  • Quantity: 2000


In 1968, Dusty Springfield was already an international superstar with fifteen hits under her belt for the Philips label when she decided it was time for a change. What followed was one of the most legendary and momentous label moves in pop music history: Dusty decamped to Atlantic Records, where, under the tutelage of Jerry Wexler, Tom Dowd, and Arif Mardin, she recorded one of the greatest albums of all time, Dusty in Memphis, and scored such indelible hits as 'Son-of-a Preacher Man' and 'The Windmills of Your Mind' before moving on to Philly soul ('A Brand New Me).

We at Real Gone Music have closely examined this crucial period in Dusty's career over the years, with three previous releases. But there remains one facet of her Atlantic period which has remained largely untouched: her singles. The Complete Atlantic Singles 1968-1971 presents the A and B-sides of all dozen singles she recorded for the label in their original mono single mixes, on vinyl for the first time in over 50 years (most of these single mixes weren't even available on compact disc until our recent CD release). These singular sides highlight how the move to a more R&B sound at Atlantic (also aided by producers Gamble & Huff and Jeff Barry with such players as The Memphis Boys and The Sweet Inspirations) brilliantly capitalized on the smoky tones of Dusty's mezzo-soprano to create some of the most potent blue-eyed soul ever recorded.

Mastered by Mike Milchner from original tape sources, annotated by Joe Marchese, and featuring copious photos, The Complete Atlantic Singles 1968-1971 is an absolute must for any Dusty devotee or any soul fan to boot. Ruby red 2-LP vinyl pressing limited to 3,000 copies worldwide.

1. Son-of-a Preacher Man
2. Just a Little Lovin' (Early in the Morning)
3. Don't Forget About Me
4. Breakfast in Bed
5. The Windmills of Your Mind
6. I Don't Want to Hear It Anymore
7. Willie & Laura Mae Jones
8. That Old Sweet Roll (Hi-De-Ho)
9. In the Land of Make Believe
10. So Much Love
11. A Brand New Me
12. Bad Case of the Blues
13. Silly, Silly Fool; Joe
14. I Wanna Be a Free Girl
15. Let Me Get in Your Way
16. Lost; Never Love Again
17. What Good Is I Love You
18. What Do You Do When Love Dies
19. Haunted; Nothing Is Forever
20. I Believe in You
21. Someone Who Cares

Label: Real Gone Music
UPC: 848064013129