Lou Reed - I'm So Free: The 1971 RCA Demos (RSD 2022)

  • $24.99

Lou Reed - I'm So Free: The 1971 RCA Demos (RSD 2022)

  • Record Store Day 2022
  • LP
  • Quantity: 7550


On October 27th 1971, Lou Reed walked into the first recording session of his solo career. I’m So Free: The 1971 RCA Demos is a collection of those rare recordings. This is Reed as few have ever heard him: the songwriter at work, pure and alone, before the noise, swagger and legend. Released on vinyl for the first time, the 13 tracks on this LP are an unprecedented addition to Reed's rock ‘n’ roll life on record.

His next four decades – more than thirty studio and concert albums of lyric challenge, incendiary guitar and iron-willed vision until his death in October 2013 – start here. The final iteration of these demos can be found across Reed’s discography including the albums Lou Reed, Transformer, Berlin, and Sally Can't Dance.


Side A
1. “Perfect Day – Takes 1 & 2”
2. “I'm So Free”
3. “Wild Child”
4. “I'm Sticking with You - Take 2”
5. “Lisa Says”
6. “Going Down – Take 2”
7. “I Love You”

Side B
1. “New York Telephone Conversation”
2. “She's My Best Friend”
3. “Kill Your Sons”
4. “Berlin”
5. “Ocean - Takes 1 & 2”
6. “Ride Into the Sun - Take 2”

Label: Legacy