Neil Young & Crazy Horse - Barn (Indie Exclusive)

Neil Young & Crazy Horse - Barn (Indie Exclusive)

  • $29.98

Neil Young & Crazy Horse - Barn
  • Indie Exclusive Edition 
  • Includes Photo Book
  • Standard Black Vinyl

RELEASE DATE: 12/10/2021

Barn, the new Neil Young/Crazy Horse album was recorded in a remote, restored, 19th century log barn. This musical family has played together for a half century, yet they continue creating new music. Neil and the Horse fans have long shouted for "more barn" and here it is... 10 new songs that encompass all that Neil Young with Crazy Horse are known for, beautiful romantic acoustic ballads, powerhouse electric rockers and insightful rollicking tunes that stick with you.

The new music captures the wild, rock and roll spirit, the idiosyncratic raw sound and the lyrical beauty that epitomizes a classic NYCH collaboration. The last song appeared on the last morning and was recorded just an hour later during a pounding hailstorm and during the full moon.

Niko Bolas was parked adjacent to the barn, in an exquisite analog mobile recording truck, Le Mobile ready to capture and mix the album on the spot.

This is the second Neil Young and Crazy Horse record since longtime guitarist Frank "Poncho" Sampedro retired. He was replaced by Nils Lofgren, whose history with Young dates back to the After The Gold Rush sessions in 1970. Bassist Billy Talbot and drummer Ralph Molina have been with Crazy Horse since the formation of the band in 1968.

Young hasn't performed in public in over two years. And while many of his peers have slowly began booking gigs again, he remains hesitant. "We hope to be out there in 2022," he wrote to a fan in August. "If it's safe for the audience."

Produced by The Volume Dealers — Neil Young and Niko Bolas, the album here contains six behind-the-scenes photographs from the Barn sessions.

The film of the same title — Barn captures this legendary band in their element — in the wild, their easy humor, their brotherhood, their humanity, and of course, the music, live, recorded in their unique spontaneous way. A Blu-ray of the film directed by Daryl Hannah, will be available as a stand-alone release.

-Side A-
1. Song Of The Seasons
2. Heading West
3. Change Ain’t Never Gonna Come
4. Canerican
5. Shape Of You
6. They Might Be Lost

-Side B-
1. Today’s People
2. Tumblin Through The Years
3. Welcome Back
4. Don’t Forget Love

LABEL: Reprise / WEA
UPC: 093624876649