Oliver Nelson - The Blues And Abstract Truth

Oliver Nelson - The Blues And Abstract Truth

  • $35.98

Oliver Nelson - The Blues And Abstract Truth

  • Verve Acoustic Sound Series 
  • 180g Audiophile Vinyl
  • Pressed at Quality Record Pressings 

Blues And The Abstract Truth (1961) is Oliver Nelson's triumph. Featuring his all-time classic "Stolen Moments", Nelson assembled one of the most potent modern jazz sextets ever. Lead trumpeter Freddie Hubbard is at his peak of performance, while alto saxophonists Nelson and Eric Dolphy (Nelson doubling on tenor) team to form an unlikely union that was simmered to perfection. Bill Evans (piano), Paul Chambers (bass) and Roy Haynes (drums) can do no wrong as a rhythm section.

Seeking to offer definitive audiophile grade versions of some of the most historic and best jazz records ever recorded, Verve Label Group and Universal Music Enterprises' new audiophile Acoustic Sounds vinyl reissue series utilizes the skills of top mastering engineers and the unsurpassed production craft of Quality Record Pressings. All titles are mastered from the original analog tapes, pressed on 180-gram vinyl and packaged by Stoughton Printing Co. in high-quality gatefold sleeves with tip-on jackets.

-Side A-

1) Stolen Moments
2) Hoe-Down
3) Cascades
-Side B-
4) Yearnin'
5) Butch And Butch
6) Teenie's Blues

LABEL: Verve
UPC: 602435669144