Sarah Brown - Sings Mahalia Jackson

Sarah Brown - Sings Mahalia Jackson

  • $29.99

Sarah Brown - Sings Mahalia Jackson
  • Vinyl LP Pressing
  • 180Gram Black Vinyl
RELEASE DATE: 10/7/2022

Sarah Brown releases her debut album 'Sarah Brown Sings Mahalia Jackson' . The record sees Sarah offer her interpretations of some of the classic tracks of arguably the most famous gospel singer of the last century who gave Brown hope and sanctuary through hard times faced over the years. Sarah explains: "For as long as I can remember, Mahalia Jackson with her fever pitched performances have been a soothing note to my tapestry. At 10 years old, I remember hopelessly trying to sing along to her bellowing thunder of a voice. In my bedroom I would become her. I chose these songs because they tell of my story. The style I was trying to achieve was influenced by early jazz, blues and the spirituals. I am happy with the sound/style of the album. It was always going to be an experiment but I had no idea that it was going to sound as good and as authentic as it does. 'Didn’t It Rain' as a jazz feel. 'Nobody Know' as a spiritual feel then it goes into swing jazz. 'Walk over God's Heaven' as a hint of rock & roll with a bit of early swing." You may not know Sarah Brown's name but you’ll definitely have heard her voice. From her collaborations with the likes of George Michael, Stevie Wonder, Duran Duran, Simply Red, Roxy Music, Pink Floyd, Simple Minds... Sarah Brown is one of the most prolific and in-demand vocalists in the world.

1 Nobody Knows
2 I’m On My Way
3 Didn’t It Rain
4 Summertime
5 Walk Over God’s Heaven
6 Just A Closer Walk
7 Trouble Of The World
8 Joshua Fought The Battle
9 Amazing Grace

LABEL: Live Records
UPC: 5055869549189