Sean Barna - An Evening At Macri Park (Purple LP Vinyl)

  • $28.98

Sean Barna - An Evening At Macri Park

  • Purple LP Vinyl

RELEASE DATE: 5/12/2023


For singer-songwriter Seán Barna, Macri Park is more than those simple descriptors. His second album and Kill Rock Stars debut, An Evening at Macri Park, is his tribute to it's community, his scene, and a time in his life when it was the center of his world. A self-described "semi-professional" musician since he was 14, Barna played drums for Deaf West Theatre's Los Angeles production of Spring Awakening and on the national Broadway tour for The Producers, but it took a trip to Berlin's Club Legarré, and it's English-speaking open mic, to find his own voice as a songwriter and performer. His new album is a collection of stories, vulnerable and openhearted, of his New York. In his words, "It's a character study of the bar itself. It's a safe space, but there's alcohol, drugs, sadness, and your own demons." Recorded in Rochester, Seán wrote late into the night as producer [producer!] and his kids slept. Moving fast, Macri Park became the center of a song cycle documenting giddiness, grief, history, and everything in-between. He enlisted friends, including Counting Crows' Adam Duritz and David Immerglück, harpist and songwriter Mikaela Davis, Danielle Ponder, and Maria Taylor, to bring his world to life.

- Disc 1 -
1 Overture (Be a Man)
2 Disco Nap
3 Sleeping with Strangers
4 Benjamin Whishaw Smiled
5 Thinking of You A6. the Lonely
- Disc 2 -
1 Be a Man
2 Macri Park
3 Maybe I Should Go Back to L.A
4 Erotic Deficiencies
5 Sparkle When You Speak

LABEL: Kill Rock Stars
UPC: 759656073448