The Kinks - Preservation Act 1 (LP Vinyl)

  • $24.98

The Kinks - Preservation Act 1

  • LP Vinyl

RELEASE DATE: 7/14/2023


Preservation Act 1 is a concept album and the 12th studio album by the Kinks, originally released November 1973 by RCA Records. Preservation is the bands most ambitious project - a rock opera that uses the charming, small-town nostalgia of Village Green as a template to draw the entirety of society and how it works. Epic opener "Morning Song" sets the scene and mood for the record, followed by a classic sounding Dave Davies' riff, "Daylight," which echoes themes and sounds tones of one their most recognisable and highly acclaimed albums, The Village Green Preservation Society. Standout tracks are the endearingly lazy "Sitting in the Midday Sun" and the beautiful "Sweet Lady Genevieve" - both strong contenders for overlooked Ray Davies. A critically acclaimed album, reviewed by Rolling Stone at the time as "A highly listenable, enjoyable album".

- Disc 1 -
1 Morning Song
2 Daylight
3 Sweet Lady Genevieve
4 There's a Change in the Weather
5 Where Are They Now?
6 One of the Survivors
- Disc 2 -
1 Cricket
2 Money and Corruption / I Am Your Man
3 Here Comes Flash
4 Sitting in the Midday Sun
5 Demolition

LABEL: Sanctuary Records
UPC: 4050538897913