Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela - Rejoice (Special Edition 2LP, 180gm)

  • $34.98

Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela - Rejoice 

  • Vinyl LP Pressing 
  • 2xLP
  • 180gm Vinyl
  • Special Edition Bonus Mixes Included


Rejoice is a very special collaboration between Tony Allen, the legendary drummer and co-founder of Afrobeat, and Hugh Masekela, the master trumpet player of South African jazz. Having first met in the '70s thanks to their respective close associations with Fela Kuti, the two world-renowned musicians talked for decades about making an album together. When, in 2010, their touring schedules coincided in the UK, the moment presented itself and producer Nick Gold took the opportunity to record their encounter. The unfinished sessions, consisting of all original compositions by the pair, lay in archive until after Masekela passed away in 2018. With renewed resolution, Allen and Gold, with the blessing and participation of Masekela's estate, unearthed the original tapes and finished recording the album in summer 2019 at the same London studio where the original sessions had taken place. Rejoice can be seen as the long overdue confluence of two mighty African musical rivers - a union of two free-flowing souls for whom borders, whether physical or stylistic, are things to pass through or ignore completely. According to Allen, the album deals in "a kind of South African-Nigerian swing-jazz stew," with it's roots firmly in Afrobeat. Allen and Masekela are accompanied on the record by a new generation of well-respected jazz musicians including Tom Herbert (Acoustic Ladyland, The Invisible), Joe Armon-Jones (Ezra Collective), Mutale Chashi (Kokoroko) and Steve Williamson.


-Side A-
A1 Robbers, Thugs And Muggers (O'Galajani)
A2 Agbada Bougou
A3 Coconut Jam
A4 Never (Lagos Never Gonna Be The Same)

-Side B-
B1 Slow Bones
B2 Jabulani (Rejoice, Here Comes Tony)
B3 Obama Shuffle Strut Blues
B4 We've Landed

(Special Edition Bonus Mixes)

-Side C-
C1 Robbers, Thugs And Muggers (O'Galajani) (Cool Cats Mix)
C2 Agbada Bougou (Cool Cats Mix)
C3 Coconut Jam (Cool Cats Mix)
C4 Never (Lagos Never Gonna Be The Same) (Cool Cats Mix)

-Side D-
D1 Slow Bones (Cool Cats Mix)
D2 Jabulani (Rejoice, Here Comes Tony) (Cool Cats Mix)
D3 Obama Shuffle Strut Blues (Cool Cats Mix)
D4 We've Landed (Cool Cats Mix)

LABEL: World Circuit
UPC: 4050538647921