Various Artists - I Killed The Monster (Green Vinyl)

Various Artists - I Killed The Monster (Green Vinyl)

  • $24.98

Various Artists - I Killed The Monster
  • Green Vinyl LP
  • The songs of Daniel Johnston
RELEASE DATE: 2/10/2023

"I Killed The Monster" is an 11-track compilation of songs written by celebrated American music legend Daniel Johnston, whose classic LPs '1990' and 'Artistic Vice' were produced by Kramer at his legendary Noise New York recording studio and released on Shimmy-Disc in 1990 and 1991, respectively. All of the songs were Re-Mastered by Kramer in 2022 and will be available for the very first time on vinyl, and on a limited-edition cassette which will also feature the remaining 10 tracks (for a total of 21) from the original 2006 CD-only release.

"I Killed The Monster" features standout tracks and performances by some of Indie music's greatest talents, including Danielson & Sufjan Stevens, Kimya Dawson, Dot Allison, Mike Watt, Jad Fair, and Jeffrey Lewis. Kramer produced and mixed most of the songs on the LP, and he him- self delivers one of the most startling tracks on this release; Daniel's great masterpiece, "Bloody Rainbow". Few artists have been where Kramer has been, or worked with the variety of artists he has (Ween, Butthole Surfers, John Zorn, Half Japanese, The Fugs, and Bongwater, and Will Oldham, to name but a few). This extraordinary LP showcases Kramer's unmistakable prowess as one of his generation's most veresatile producers, and con- tinues the 21st century re-birth of his iconic Shimmy-Disc label.

1 Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Your Grievances
2 Worried Shoes
3 Bloody Rainbow
4 Cathy Cline
5 Follow That Dream
6 Honey I Sure Miss You
7 True Love Will Find You in the End
8 Blue Skies Will Haunt You from Now on
9 The Adventures of God As a Young Boy
10 Walking the Cow
11 It's Over

LABEL: Shimmy Disc
UPC: 602309895723