Beirut - Artifacts

  • $31.98

Beirut - Artifacts
  • 2x LP
  • Standard Black Vinyl
RELEASE DATE: 4/1/2022

Artifacts began humbly as a means of compiling a few early Beirut EPs for a proper physical release. However, as Zach Condon explains in album's excellent liner notes, reconnecting with old recordings through fresh ears turned a simple re-issue project into something much more expansive. "When the decision came to re-release this collection, I found myself digging through hard drives looking for something extra to add to the compilation. What started as a few extra unreleased tracks from my formative recording years quickly grew into an entire extra records-worth of music from my past, and a larger project of remixing and remastering everything I found for good measure."

Artifacts is a phylogenetic tree. A double-LP's worth music that traces the evolution of Beirut from a 14-year old Condon's first attempts at bringing the music he heard in his mind to life, to the fully formed Beirut we know today.

- DISC 1 -
1 Elephant Gun
2 My Family's Role in the World Revolution
3 Scenic World
4 The Long Island Sound
5 Carousels
6 Transatlantique
7 O Leãozinho
8 Autumn Tall Tales
9 Fyodor Dormant
10 Poisoning Claude
11 Bercy
12 Your Sails
13 Irrlichter

- DISC 2 -
1 Sicily
2 Now I'm Gone
3 Napoleon on the Bellerophon
4 Interior of a Dutch House
5 Fountains and Tramways
6 Hot Air Balloon
7 Fisher Island Sound
8 So Slowly
9 Die Treue Zum Ursprung
10 The Crossing
11 Zagora
12 Le Phare Du Cap Bon
13 Babylon

LABEL: Pompeii Records
UPC: 617308014518