Booker T. & The MG's - Doin' Our Thing (Sky Blue, LP Vinyl)

  • $36.99

Booker T. & The MG's - Doin' Our Thing
  • Sky Blue Vinyl LP
  • Limited Edition
  • Cut AAA from the original analog master tapes
  • Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
RELEASE DATE: 11/03/23

Initially serving as the house band for Stax Records, organist Booker T. Jones, guitarist Steve Cropper, bassist Lewie Steinberg (later replaced by bass monster Donald "Duck" Dunn), and drummer Al Jackson Jr. were instrumental in creating the "Memphis Sound." They recorded the basic tracks for well over 100 records, backing some of the greatest artists of all time — including Otis Redding, Sam & Dave, Rufus Thomas, and Albert King — all the while breaking barriers as one of the south's first integrated acts.

But they became legendary powerhouses of their own making when they started recording for themselves. Throughout their history they racked up Top 40 hits, had their songs covered by artists as diverse as The Ventures, Count Basie, and Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers, were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, received a Grammy Lifetime Achievement award, and continued being the band of choice in collaborations with legends such as Bob Dylan and Neil Young.

Iconic records Soul Dressing, And Now!, Hip Hug-Her, and Doin' Our Thing will hit the shelves for the first time in decades, with Doin' Our Thing receiving its first U.S. vinyl reissue since its original 1968 release date!

Doin' Our Thing was Booker T. & the M.G.'s sixth studio album. It was their first self-produced effort and charted at No. 176 on the Billboard Top 200 Chart.

- SIDE 1 -
  1. I Can Dig It
  2. Expressway (To Your Heart)
  3. Doin' Our Thing
  4. You Don't Love Me
  5. Never My Love
  6. The Exodus Song

- SIDE 2 -
  1. The Beat Goes On
  2. Ode To Billie Joe
  3. Blue On Green
  4. You Keep Me Hanging On
  5. Let's Go Get Stoned

UPC: 843563157053