Booker T. & The MG's - Hip Hug-Her (Hot Pink, LP Vinyl)

  • $36.99

Booker T. & The MG's - Hip Hug-Her
  • "Hot Pink" Vinyl LP
  • Cut AAA from the original analog master tapes
  • Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
  • Long out-of-print and finally reissued!
  • Includes the hit "Hip Hug-Her"
  • Cut AAA from the original analog master tapes
  • Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio

RELEASE DATE: 11/03/23

Initially serving as the house band for Stax Records, organist Booker T. Jones, guitarist Steve Cropper, bassist Lewie Steinberg (later replaced by bass monster Donald "Duck" Dunn), and drummer Al Jackson Jr. were instrumental in creating the "Memphis Sound." They recorded the basic tracks for well over 100 records, backing some of the greatest artists of all time — including Otis Redding, Sam & Dave, Rufus Thomas, and Albert King — all the while breaking barriers as one of the south's first integrated acts.

But they became legendary powerhouses of their own making when they started recording for themselves. Throughout their history they racked up Top 40 hits, had their songs covered by artists as diverse as The Ventures, Count Basie, and Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers, were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, received a Grammy Lifetime Achievement award, and continued being the band of choice in collaborations with legends such as Bob Dylan and Neil Young.

Iconic records Soul Dressing, And Now!, Hip Hug-Her, and Doin' Our Thing will hit the shelves for the first time in decades, with Doin' Our Thing receiving its first U.S. vinyl reissue since its original 1968 release date!

Booker T. & the M.G.'s released Hip Hug-Her, their fifth studio album, in June 1967. The title track was the band's most successful single since their debut, "Green Onions" while their cover of the Young Rascals song "Groovin'" was also a hit (No. 10 R&B, No. 21 pop). The album was their last to be produced by Stax co-founder Jim Stewart, because the band started to produce themselves starting with Doin' Our Thing.

- SIDE 1 - 
  1. Hip Hug-Her
  2. Soul Sanction
  3. Get Ready
  4. More
  5. Double Or Nothing
  6. Carnaby St.
- SIDE 2 - 
  1. Slim Jenkins' Place
  2. Pigmy
  3. Groovin'
  4. Booker's Notion
  5. Sunny

LABEL: Jackpot Records
UPC: 843563157022