Albert Hammond Jr. - Melodies On Hiatus (CD) UPC: 844942093818

Albert Hammond Jr. - Melodies On Hiatus (CD)

  • $11.98

Albert Hammond Jr. - Melodies On Hiatus 

  • CD

RELEASE DATE: 06/23/2023


Pop/rock singer, songwriter, and guitarist Albert Hammond Jr. is the lead & rhythm guitarist and songwriting member of the GRAMMY® and BRIT Awards-winning band The Strokes. He has released 4 solo albums to date, most recently the acclaimed “Francis Trouble” in 2018 which spawned the radio single “Far Away Truths”.

In the 4 years, since then, The Strokes released their US Top 10 charting GRAMMY® nominated rock record “The New Abnormal” and toured the world extensively.

Albert also began the songwriting process for his 5th solo album “Melodies on Hiatus”, a 19-track album, crafted in a most experimental style. Albert teamed up with his writing partner, Canadian songwriter, and poet Simon Wilcox (whom he never met during the process) and had lengthy conversations via the telephone; Simon would jot down notes from Albert’s stream of consciousness, and draft the lyrics on her typewriter, and drop them into his letterbox! Albert then added the lyrics to the melodies he had already crafted. The songwriting process became a long distant “anonymous love affair of ideas & lyrics.”

The album covers themes of childhood, surviving adolescence, adulthood, vulnerability, fame, relationship with self and others, and is Albert’s “deconstructed broken down ego reaction” to “Francis Trouble.” The album also features songs with GoldLink, Matt Helders (of the Arctic Monkeys), Steve Stevens and Rainsford, and was mixed by Tony Hoffer (known for his work with Beck, Air, M83, The Kooks, Fitz and the Tantrums, Metric, Chromeo, etc.) and mastered by Dave Cooley at Elysian Masters (Paramore, Spoon, Tame Impala, Jimmy Eat World, Peanut Butter Wolfe).

The album cover art is a license of Wassily Kandinsky’s famous painting “Seven Circles,” which is an abstract and spiritual expression of color and shape on canvas, “the fusion of the two greatest opposites, that of the concentric and of the eccentric in a single form and in equilibrium. This painting is subjective and relies on the infinite possibilities of interpretation of the circle to create a sense of spiritual and emotional harmony for the viewer” much like the songs on this album!


01. 100-99 (feat. GoldLink)
02. Downtown Fred
03. Old Man
04. Darlin’
05. Thoughtful Distress (feat. Matt Helders and Steve Stevens)
06. Libertude
07. Memo of Hate
08. Home Again
09. I Got You
10. Caught by Night
11. Dead Air
12. One Chance
13. Remember (feat. Rainsford)
14. 818
15. Fast Kitten
16. I’d Never Leave
17. Never Stop
18. False Alarm
19. Alright Tomorrow (feat. Rainsford)

UPC: 844942093818