Alice Cooper - School's Out (Deluxe Edition, 3LP Vinyl)

  • $79.98

Alice Cooper - School's Out

  • 3xLP Vinyl
  • Deluxe Edition
  • 50th Anniversary

RELEASE DATE: 6/9/2023


SCHOOL’S OUT (DELUXE EDITION) begins with a newly remastered version of the 1972 original, which peaked at #2 on the albums chart. Essential tracks like “Luney Tune” and “Alma Mater” are joined by “Gutter Cat vs. The Jets.” The latter is an homage to West Side Story, a significant influence on the band. The song incorporates lyrics from “Jet Song” from the 1957 musical, which led to an unlikely songwriting credit for Leonard Bernstein and Stephen Sondheim on an Alice Cooper track.

The Deluxe Edition contains rarities like the single versions of “School’s Out” and “Gutter Cat vs. The Jets.” Two previously unreleased tracks are also included, an alternate version of “Alma Mater” and an early demo for “Elected,” a song that would appear in 1973 on the band’s first #1 album, BILLION DOLLAR BABIES.

Alice Cooper’s concert in Miami on May 27, 1972, adds even more unreleased music to the collection. The show was recorded a few weeks before the band entered the studio to record School’s Out. The live performance features standout versions of “Halo Of Flies,” “School’s Out,” and “Yeah, Yeah, Yeah,” a song that gives Cooper a chance to show off his impressive harmonica skills.

The vinyl versions for both Deluxe Editions recreate the original album sleeves down to the smallest detail. For KILLER, that means a gatefold sleeve that opens to reveal a detachable 1972 calendar with a photo of Cooper in the gallows. The cover of SCHOOL’S OUT looks like a wooden school desk and opens to reveal the LP wrapped in a pair of panties. The band stopped including the underwear following a controversy as to whether or not they were flammable. Thankfully, the lacy unmentionables in the new Deluxe Edition are not a fire hazard.

Both sets come with booklets that include track-by-track commentary by band members and former Creem Magazine editor Jaan Uhelszki, plus liner notes by Bill Holdship, also a former Creem Magazine editor. In KILLER (DELUXE EDITION), Holdship writes: “Listening to Killer again after all these years to write these notes was rewarding because, like The Beatles and Elvis, it’s gratifying to realize I ended up ‘wasting’ my life on something that, even in retrospect, really was that great. Fifty years later, Killer remains a perfect – perfect! – rock ’n’ roll record.

- Disc 1 -
1 * LP One: Original Album Remastered
2 School's Out
3 Luney Tune
4 Gutter Cat Vs. the Jets
5 Street Fight (Instrumental)
6 Blue Turk
- Disc 2 -
1 My Stars
2 Public Animal #9
3 Alma Mater
4 Grande Finale (Instrumental)
- Disc 3 -
1 * LP Two: Live in Miami, FL (May 27, 1972)
2 Be My Lover
3 You Drive Me Nervous
4 Yeah, Yeah, Yeah
5 I'm Eighteen
- Disc 4 -
1 Halo of Flies
2 Dead Babies
3 Killer
- Disc 5 -
1 * LP Three: Live in Miami, FL (May 27, 1972)
2 Long Way to Go
3 School's Out
4 Is It My Body?
- Disc 6 -
1 School's Out (Single Version)
2 Gutter Cat (Single Version)
3 Alma Mater (Alternate Version)
4 Elected (Early Take)

LABEL: Rhino
UPC: 603497841004