Art Pepper - So In Love (LP Vinyl)

Art Pepper - So In Love (LP Vinyl)

  • $24.98

Art Pepper - So In Love
  • Vinyl LP
  • Originally reissued as part of the Promise Kept: The Complete Artist House Recordings Boxed Set, Now Available Separately
  • Contains the Original 5 Tracks
  • Remastered by Michael Graves
  • Vinyl Cut by Jeff Powell

RELEASE DATE: 7/7/2023

Producer John Snyder had always wanted to record Art Pepper and booked him into a week at the Village Vanguard in New York. At the time, Pepper was under contract to Contemporary Records and label head, Les Koenig, decided he would record the gigs, quashing any notion Snyder had of doing the same. However, Art promised Snyder that he'd record an album for Snyder's label, Artists House, at some point down the road. Together they wound up making four.

Here again on vinyl are the original albums drawn from these sessions, lovingly recreated in their original form, remastered by Grammy® winner Michael Graves and recut by Jeff Powell.

So In Love (originally issued in 1980) features Pepper's takes on classics from Thelonious Monk, Cole Porter, and Hoagy Carmichael, plus a pair of originals including "Blues for Blanche." The AllMusic review by Scott Yanow noted: "Pepper is in excellent form throughout the album, giving these songs heart-wrenching interpretations".

"John and Art both kept their promises. John brought Art into the wider world; he put him on the road. Just as he said he would, he brought him to New York and to the Village Vanguard, got his picture in the papers, got him on the radio. From Art, John got his dearest wish. He made these recordings." —Laurie Pepper

- SIDE 1 -
1. Straight No Chaser 6:26
2. Blues For Blanche 6:49
3. So In Love 11:37

- SIDE 2
1. Diane 12:22
2. Stardust 10:34

LABEL: Omnivore Recordings
UPC: 810075111019

We Also Recommend