Bob Dylan - Highway 61 Revisited

  • $23.98

Bob Dylan - Highway 61 Revisited
  • 150g Standard Black Vinyl
  • 2022 Vinyl Re-issue 
Highway 61 Revisited is the sixth studio album by Bob Dylan, originally released on August 30, 1965, by Columbia Records. Having until then recorded mostly acoustic music, Dylan used rock musicians as his backing band on every track of the album, except for the closing track, the 11-minute ballad "Desolation Row". Critics have focused on the innovative way Dylan combined driving, blues-based music with the subtlety of poetry to create songs that captured the political and cultural chaos of contemporary America.

Leading with the hit song "Like A Rolling Stone", the album features songs that Dylan has continued to perform live over his long career, including "Ballad Of A Thin Man" and the title track. He named the album after the major American highway which connected his birthplace of Duluth, Minnesota, to southern cities famed for their musical heritage, including St. Louis, Memphis, New Orleans, and the Delta blues area of Mississippi.

Highway 61 Revisited peaked at No. 3 on the US Billboard 200 and No. 4 on the UK Albums Chart. The album has since been described as one of Dylan's best works and among the greatest albums of all time, and was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 2002.

- SIDE 1 -
1 Like a Rolling Stone
2 Tombstone Blues
3 It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry
4 From a Buick 6
5 Ballad of a Thin Man

- SIDE 2 -
1 Queen Jane Approximately
2 Highway 61 Revisited
3 Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues
4 Desolation Row

LABEL: Sony Legacy
UPC: 194398902814