David J - Urban Urbane (RSD 2023, 2LP Vinyl)

David J - Urban Urbane (RSD 2023, 2LP Vinyl)

  • $42.98

David J - Urban Urbane

  • Record Store Day 2023 Exclusive
  • 2x Vinyl LP
  • Quantity: 1250

Release Date: 4/22/2023


Urban Urbane is the fifth solo album from David J (Bauhaus, Love & Rockets), originally released on MCA Records in 1992. The album is a musical travelogue of sorts, with the initial recordings taking place in the tiny English village of Guilsborough, then London, New York and Los Angeles Aside from referencing those last three ports of call, the songs also name check New Orleans, Saint Petersburg and Memphis. It is a kind of collection of poetic snapshots from an itinerant drifter on the run.

The record is graced by contributions from a stellar cast of guest musicians including T Bone Burnett, Peter Murphy, Sonic Boom, Danny Thompson, Max Eider, The Uptown Horns and Charlie Giordano (E Street Band) amongst others. It was co-produced by the great Niko Bolas (Neil Young, Los Lobos etc).

To celebrate Urban Urbane’s 30th Anniversary this beautiful collection is being released exclusively for Record Store Day for the first time ever on vinyl. A beautiful 2xLP gatefold record with download code included, it includes an entire second LP of unreleased outtakes and demos, some featuring guest appearances by T-Bone Burnett, Steven Perkins (Jane’s Addiction) and covers from T-Rex and John Cale.

1. Some Big City
2. A Man of Influential Taste
3. Smashed Princess
4. Ten Little Beauty Queens
5. Candy on the Cross
6. Space Cowboy
7. Serial Killer Blues
8. Tinseltown
9. Bouquets, Wreaths and Laurels
10. No Faith
11. Pilgrims, Martyrs and Saints
12. Hoagy Carmichael Never Went to New Orleans
13. Saint Petersburg, October 69 (featuring T-Bone Burnett on guitars) (Studio Out-Take)
14. YSL (Studio Out-Take)
15. A Passport And No Tears (Studio Out-Take)
16. Loner (Studio Out-Take)
17. South Side Blues Blues (Studio Out-Take)
18. Spaceball Ricochet (T-Rex cover) (Studio Out-Take)
19. Tinseltown (alternative mix) (Studio Out-Take)
20. Hoagy Carmichael Never Went To New Orleans (alternative version featuring Steven Perkins (Jane’s Addiction) on percussion) (Studio Out-Take)
21. Memphis Ghosts (From ‘Candy On The Cross’ Maxi Single)
22. Antarctica Starts Here (John Cale cover) (From ‘Candy On The Cross’ Maxi Single)
23. Primitives Under The Hammer (Demo)
24. Some Big City (Demo)
25. Smashed Princess (Demo)
26. YSL (Saint Petersburg, October 69)
27. Loner (Saint Petersburg, October 69)
28. A Passport And No Tears (Saint Petersburg, October 69)
29. South Side Blues Blues (Saint Petersburg, October 69)

Label: Schoolkids Records
UPC: 634457082830

We Also Recommend