Dorothy Ashby - With Strings Attached (6-LP Box Set)

  • $279.98

Dorothy Ashby - With Strings Attached

  • 6x LP Box Set

RELEASE DATE: 5/26/2023 postponed to 06/30/2023


All original studio albums from 1957 - 1965. Remastered directly and lacquers cut from the original analog tapes by Kevin Gray. Manufactured at Pallas on180gm vinyl and housed in reverse-board deluxe sleeves. Extensive book with foreword from Brandee Younger, comprehensive liner notes by Shannon J. Effinger and previously unseen photographs and ephemera. Housed inside book-shelf style slipcase with silver-foil detail. Limited to 1,000 copies Worldwide.

New Land are proud to present the first multi-disc box set from one of the most overlooked artists in Jazz history: Dorothy Ashby. The 6 LPs contained within this lavish box-set will give long overdue retrospection to her early works from 1957 to 1965, a period that found her represented by some of Jazz music's most important record labels; Regent, Prestige, Jazzland, Argo and Atlantic. The Jazz Harpist, Hip Harp w/ Frank Wess, In A Minor Groove w/ Frank Wess, Soft Winds: The Swinging Harp Of Dorothy Ashby, Dorothy Ashby and The Fantastic Harp Of Dorothy Ashby have been officially licensed with the full support of the Dorothy Ashby estate.

All albums were remastered and lacquers cut by the exceptional Kevin Gray directly from the original analog tapes except The Jazz Harpist and Dorothy Ashby for which the original tapes have unfortunately been lost. Manufacturing has been handled by Pallas and all albums have been pressed on 180gm black vinyl and housed inside thick reverse-board sleeves. At the centre of this package is a 44-page book featuring a foreword from Grammy nominated harpist Brandee Younger. Impassioned and deeply researched liner notes by Shannon J. Effinger provide historical context to Dorothy's life, offering the most in-depth piece of writing ever committed to print on Dorothy as well as interviews with those that knew her best. The set is housed inside a deluxe book-shelf style box with stunning silver-foil detail.

1 The Jazz Harpist: Thou Swell
2 Stella By Starlight
3 Dancing on the Ceiling Aeolian Groove
4 Quietude
5 Spicy
6 Lamentation Hip Harp: Side A
7 Pawky
8 Moonlight in Vermont
9 Back Talk
10 Dancing in the Dark
11 Charmaine
12 Jollity
13 There's a Small Hotel in a Minor Groove: Rascallity
14 You'd Be So Nice to Come Home to
15 It's a Minor Thing
16 Yesterdays
17 Bohemia After Dark
18 Taboo
19 Autumn in Rome
20 Alone Together Soft Winds: The Swinging Harp of Dorothy Ashby: Soft Winds
21 Wild As the Wind
22 The Man I Love
23 My Ship
24 Love Is Here to Stay
25 I've Never Been in Love Before
26 With Strings Attached
27 Laura
28 The Guns of Navarone
29 Misty
30 The Gypsy in My Soul Dorothy Ashby: Lonely Melody
31 Secret Love
32 Gloomy Sunday
33 Satin Doll
34 John R
35 Li'l Darlin'
36 Booze
37 Django
38 You Stepped Out of a Dream
39 Stranger in Paradise the Fantastic Harp of Dorothy Ashby: Flighty
40 Essence of Sapphire
41 Why Did You Leave Me
42 I Will Follow You
43 What Am I Here for
44 House of the Rising Sun
45 Invitation
46 Nabu Corfa
47 Feeling Good
48 Dodi LI

LABEL: New Land
UPC: 5051083176071