Frank Turner - Tape Deck Heart (RSD 2023, 2LP Maroon Vinyl)

Frank Turner - Tape Deck Heart (RSD 2023, 2LP Maroon Vinyl)

  • $42.98

Frank Turner - Tape Deck Heart

  • Record Store Day 2023 Release
  • 2x Maroon Vinyl LP
  • Quantity: 1500

RELEASE DATE: 04/22/2023


Record Store Day 2023 coincides with the tenth anniversary of English singer-songwriter Frank Turner’s fifth studio album, Tape Deck Heart, and brings with it the next in the series of Turner’s collectible Tenth Anniversary Editions.

The double vinyl set includes the original album and is accompanied by the previously unreleased “Evolution Demos,” mastered and cut by Frank Arkwright at Abbey Road Studios and featuring the singles “Recovery” and “The Way I Tend To Be.”

This expanded reissue is pressed on 180g maroon vinyl and packaged in a striking, metallic-printed gatefold sleeve within an O-Card. The 4-page insert contains lyrics and new liner notes written by Frank, reflecting on the album and his journey over the last ten years. The artwork features designs by two tattoo artists – a painting of Frank on the O-Card by Matt Hunt and gatefold sleeve illustrations by Heather Ann Law.

The album was recorded at El Dorado Studios (Burbank, CA) in 2012 with his band, The Sleeping Souls, and produced by Rich Costey. The sessions came off the back of extensive touring for Frank’s fourth studio album, England Keep My Bones, which had included a sold-out headline show at Wembley Stadium. Tape Deck Heart debuted at No. 2 on the U.K. album charts.
In Frank’s own words, “A ‘Tape Deck Heart’ is someone who has a love of music above anything else. I don’t miss cassettes, but I am of an age – like many of us – whose music listening life was defined by [the Walkman] and C90 tapes. This album is about self-examination, running through your own faults, about change, and about ending. Something like that.”

1. Recovery
2. Losing Days
3. The Way I Tend To Be
4. Plain Sailing Weather
5. Good & Gone
6. Tell Tale Signs

1. Four Simple Words
2. Polaroid Picture
3. The Fisher King Blues
4. Anymore
5. Oh Brother
6. Broken Piano

1. Recovery - Evolution Demo
2. Losing Days - Evolution Demo
3. The Way I Tend To Be - Evolution Demo
4. Plain Sailing Weather - Evolution Demo
5. Good & Gone - Evolution Demo
6. Tell Tale Signs - Evolution Demo

1. Four Simple Words - Evolution Demo
2. Polaroid Picture - Evolution Demo
3. The Fisher King Blues - Evolution Demo
4. Oh Brother - Evolution Demo
5. Broken Piano - Evolution Demo

LABEL: Interscope Records
UPC: 602448756435