John Coltrane - Blue Train: The Complete Masters (Blue Note Tone Poet Series) 180g 2LP (Stereo)

  • $54.99

John Coltrane - Blue Train: The Complete Masters

  • Blue Note Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series
  • 180g Vinyl, 2x LP Stereo 
  • Mastered from Original Analog Master Tapes
  • Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
  • Second LP of Alternate & Incomplete Takes - First Time on Vinyl
  • Four Previously Unreleased Tracks
  • Includes Bound Booklet with Session Photos and Essay 

RELEASE DATE: 9/16/2022

On September 15, 1957, John Coltrane went into Rudy Van Gelder’s living room studio in Hackensack, New Jersey and recorded his first great masterpiece: Blue Train. It would be the legendary saxophonist’s sole album as a leader for Blue Note, a locomotive 5-track album fueled by the bluesy title track that featured a dynamic 6-piece band with Lee Morgan on trumpet, Curtis Fuller on trombone, Kenny Drew on piano, Paul Chambers on bass, and Philly Joe Jones on drums. To mark the 65th anniversary of the album’s recording, Blue Train will be released in 2 special editions as part of Blue Note’s acclaimed Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series: a 1-LP mono pressing of the original album and a 2-LP stereo pressing of Blue Train: The Complete Masters which includes a 2nd disc of alternate and incomplete takes, 4 of which have never been released before, and none of which have been available previously on vinyl. The 2-LP set comes with a bound booklet featuring session photos by Francis Wolff and an essay by Coltrane expert Ashley Kahn.

Both Tone Poet Vinyl Editions were produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original analog master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at RTI, and packaged in deluxe gatefold tip-on jackets.

John Coltrane, tenor saxophone
Lee Morgan, trumpet
Curtis Fuller, trombone
Kenny Drew, piano
Paul Chambers, bass
Philly Joe Jones, drums

A1: Blue Train
A2: Moment’s Notice

B1: Locomotion
B2: I’m Old Fashioned
B3: Lazy Bird

C1: Blue Train (False Start)
C2: Blue Train (Alternate Take 7)
C3: Moment’s Notice (Alternate Take 4)
C4: Lazy Bird (Alternate Take 1)

D1: Blue Train (Alternate Take 8)
D2: Moment’s Notice (Alternate Take 5A Incomplete)
D3: Lazy Bird (Alternate Take 2)

LABEL: Blue Note Records
UPC: 602445481071

We Also Recommend