MOMO. - I Was Told To Be Quiet (Indie Exclusive, Yellow Vinyl)

MOMO. - I Was Told To Be Quiet (Indie Exclusive, Yellow Vinyl)

  • $22.98

MOMO. - I Was Told To Be Quiet

  • Indie Exclusive Edition 
  • Yellow Colored Vinyl

RELEASE DATE: 4/29/2022

Originally released in 2019, I Was Told to Be Quiet is the sixth full-length album by Marcelo Frota, a prolific Brazilian singer-songwriter who performs under the name "MOMO."

MOMO. moved into the home of Los Angeles producer Tom Biller (Karen O, Sean Lennon, Liars) for a month in 2018 to collaborate on I Was Told to Be Quiet. Biller brought a new element of creativity and contemporary production to MOMO.'s work, merging electronic samples and dreamy synthesizers with MOMO.'s predilection for timeless singer/songwriters (e.g. Leonard Cohen, Nick Drake, Sibylle Baier) as well as bossa nova and psych-folk. The album finds MOMO. singing in English, Portuguese, and French, and features collaborations with Alex Toth (of Rubblebucket), Thiago Camelo, and Wado.

This is the first time MOMO.'s music has ever been released on vinyl, but MOMO. is partnering with Chattanooga-based label Yellow Racket Records to release his entire catalog over the next few years. Each of MOMO.'s previous albums will be released on limited edition colored vinyl.

1. For I Am Just A Reckless Child
2. Diz A Verdade 
3. Marigold 
4. Mon Néant 
5. Stupid Lullaby 
6. Vida 
7. Higher Ground 
8. Mes Yeux Crevés 
9. Lilies For Eyes 
10. Sereno Canto