Nina Hagen - Unity (Vinyl LP)

Nina Hagen - Unity (Vinyl LP)

  • $29.99

Nina Hagen - Unity
  • Vinyl LP
  • First Studio Album Since 2011
  • George Clinton Collaborating Partner
RELEASE DATE: 12/9/2022

"Unity" is a collaboration with funk visionary George Clinton. It is a wonderfully lightly flowing and cosmically glistening dub number that pays homage to the Black Lives Matter movement. The two of them wrote the song as an immediate response to the death of George Floyd. The synthesizer melodies swing like gentle waves to stuttering hi-hats while Nina and George sing against hate: "Positive vibrations surround the world's nations!" The song "Atomwaffensperrvertrag" is explicitly political. In it, Nina Hagen remixes two sampled excerpts from speeches (one she gave in 2009 at the United Nation Freedom Festival at Brandenburg Gate and a UN speech from US politician Dennis Kucinich), creating a pulsing tour de force with country guitars, jumbled voices and frantic percussions.

1 Shadrack
2 United Women of the World
3 Unity
4 16 Tons
5 Atomwaffensperrvertrag
6 Gib Mir Deine Liebe
7 Venusfliegenfalle
8 Redemtion Day
9 Geld, Geld, Geld
10 Die Antwort Weiss Ganz Allein Der Wind
11 Opne My Heart (Dinner Time)
12 It Doesn't Matter Now

LABEL: Groenland Records
UPC: 5060238639064