Poppy - Flux (Indie Exclusive, Black Inside Blue Vinyl)

  • $26.99

Poppy - Flux

  • Indie Exclusive Edition
  • Black Inside Electric Blue Colored Vinyl

RELEASE DATE: 02/04/2022

Flux marks yet another artistic leap for the ever-evolving musician, featuring a stream-lined songwriting approach that puts her indelible earworm melodies at the foreground of a kaleidoscopic mosaic of overdriven guitars. Flux was produced by Justin Meldal-Johnsen (M83, Air, St. Vincent), who had Poppy and her band record live to tape, resulting in an organic feel that lends a decidedly personal touch to the new set of material. The announcement comes paired with the release of a music video for the album's title track, self-directed by Poppy. "Flux" is set in a pastel dream world constructed by Australian visual/sculpture artist Pip & Pop in which Poppy is beset by a veritable cavalcade of bizarre characters.

Most of the textures Poppy explores on Flux are rooted in rock music, and she spends much of the record sounding more like the frontwoman of a killer band than a pop star. That’s perhaps an inevitable result of recording live in the studio with her touring musicians, a decision that lends the songs a sweaty, electric frisson. Poppy and her band work through excursions into pop-punk, shoegaze, grunge, dream pop, and in a few carefully chosen moments, the metallic fury that served as I Disagree’s calling card.

1 Flux
2 Lessen The Damage
3 So Mean
4 On The Level
5 Hysteria
6 Her
7 Bloom
8 As Strange As It Seems
9 Never Find My Place

LABEL: Sumerian Records
UPC: 810016764977

We Also Recommend