The Jesus And Mary Chain - Munki (Indie Exclusive, Blue, Red 2LP Vinyl) UPC: 5060978390003

The Jesus And Mary Chain - Munki (Indie Exclusive, Blue, Red 2LP Vinyl)

  • $44.98

The Jesus And Mary Chain - Munki

  • Indie Exclusive
  • 2xLP Blue, Red Vinyl

RELEASE DATE: 10/20/2023


To celebrate the album’s 25-year anniversary, The Jesus And Mary Chain are reissuing their long-sold-out sixth studio album ‘Munki’. Out October 20th 2023 on Fuzz Club, the reissue arrives on CD and gatefold double LP. The vinyl has been remastered by Pete Maher (The Rolling Stones, Jack White, Liam Gallagher).

Originally released June 2nd 1998 on Sub Pop / Creation Records, ‘Munki’ was – up until the Mary Chain’s reformation in 2007 – an experimental rock’n’roll masterclass turned swan song for the Reid brothers, whose fractious in-fighting culminated in the band’s break-up less than a year after its release. It was perhaps fitting, then, that ‘Munki’ is argued by some as the definitive Mary Chain record in the way it seemed to chart the full array of musical directions the band had ploughed over the five records that came before. The decision to bookend the album with Jim’s rousing sing-along ‘I Love Rock 'N' Roll’ and William’s caustic white-noise anthem ‘I Hate Rock 'N' Roll’ perfectly captures the two-fold tension at the heart of the Mary Chain at that time – a tension between noise and melody, and warring brothers.

Across the album’s 17 tracks and 70-minute running time, there are the expected abrasive noise-rock epics ‘Cracking Up’ and ‘Degenerate’ by way of fuzzed-out pop hits like ‘Fizzy’ and the tender acoustic slow-burner ‘Never Understood’. Between the Reid’s Glaswegian snarls and unapologetically insolent lyrics – "I'm a mean motherf*cker now, but I once was cool”, “McDonald’s is sh*t!”, “Children are fools!” being just a few lyrical highlights – ‘Munki’ also features two great guest appearances. Mazzy Star’s Hope Sandoval returns for another Mary Chain duet on ‘Perfume’, which has a swagger that’s equal parts menacing and bittersweet, and the Reid’s younger sister Linda (Sister Vanilla) sings beautifully on top of ‘Moe Tucker’s motorik proto-punk scuzz.


A1 I Love Rock 'N' Roll
A2 Birthday
A3 Stardust Remedy
A4 Fizzy
B1 Moe Tucker
B2 Perfume
B3 Virtually Unreal
B4 Degenerate
C1 Cracking Up
C2 Commercial
C3 Supertramp
C4 Never Understood
D1 I Can't Find The Time For Times
D2 Man On The Moon
D3 Black
D4 Dream Lover
D5 I Hate Rock 'N' Roll

LABEL: Cooking Vinyl
UPC: 5060978390003

We Also Recommend